Children's Fiction  

Daughter of the Flames (Paperback)

Zoe Marriott

-  

This is a sweeping fantasy chronicling a courageous girl's fight for freedom and love in a world ravaged by war and religious fanaticism. Zahira is a young woman of the conquered Rua people. She has been raised to distrust the occupying population. But everything changes when her home is destroyed and she finds out some shocking truths about her past. Realizing that it is up to her to do something about the violence that is tearing her country apart, she tries to bridge the gap between the warring cultures. But when her own people suspect her of treachery - especially after she falls in love with one of the enemy - the epic task ahead of her seems insurmountable...This title is for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare. This is a vibrant new edition of Zoe Marriott's second book and a companion title to "FrostFire". This is a refreshing real-world take on the fantasy genre: in this world there is no magic and the setting is more akin to Northern India or Tibet than the usual Tolkien-inspired pseudo-Europe. It tackles themes such as religion, multiculturalism and terrorism as well as forbidden love. "The heroine interracial, God female; however, traditional power dynamics are less subverted than this setup implies, offering fertile ground for discussion". ("Kirkus"). Zoe Marriott's first novel, "The Swan Kingdom" was chosen as a USBBY Outstanding International Book.


Product Details

  • Product code: AEPTV
  • ISBN: 9781406338379
  • Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.7cm x 12.7cm
  • Pages: 368
  • Publish date: Thu Jul 05 00:00:00 BST 2012
  • Book points: 7

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?