User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

How England Made the English - 9780670919147

Product Details

  • Product code: AGJGV
  • ISBN: 9780670919147
  • Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.9cm
  • Pages: 368
  • Publish date: 04/04/2013

How England Made the English (Paperback)

How England Made the English - 9780670919147

Harry Mount


  • Our price £8.59
  • RRP £9.99
  • Save £1.40
Notify me
Add to wish list
Harry Mount's "How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours" is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's "The English", Bryson's "Notes on a Small Island" and Fox's "Watching the English", this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Praise for Harry Mount: "Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather". ("Independent"). "Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion". ("Daily Mail"). "Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed". ("Guardian"). Harry Mount is the author of "Amo, Amas, Amat and All That", his best-selling book on Latin, and "A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings". A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the "Daily Telegraph". He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

Product Details

  • Product code: AGJGV
  • ISBN: 9780670919147
  • Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.9cm
  • Pages: 368
  • Publish date: 04/04/2013

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?

Rate & Review
  • Our price £8.59
  • RRP £9.99
  • Save £1.40
Notify me

We hope to have this item available again soon.


Add to Wishlist

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.