Jean Plaidy Collection - 12 Books (Collection)

Jean Plaidy

-
(7)

Jean Plaidy's epic and unforgettable historical fiction novels set during the times of England's most tumultuous Tudor years display a skilful blend of superb storytelling and intricate historical detail.

Likely to appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel, this 12-book collection includes incredible novels such as Defenders of the Faith, which tells the story of the dark days in England as the Tudor succession hung in the balance; Royal Road to Fotheringay, the tale of Mary Stuart's turbulent years before her 19-year imprisonment; and novels from the ever-popular Tudor Saga series, full of full-blooded drama and excitement with Henry VIII at their heart.

Compelling and full of meticulous attention to detail, this powerful collection is completely unputdownable.


Titles in this collection (1-10 of 12)
  • Uneasy lies the head
  • Katharine the virgin widow
  • The shadow of the pomegranate
  • The King's secret matter
  • Murder most royal
  • Saint Thomas's eve
  • The sixth wife
  • The thistle and the rose
  • Mary, Queen of France
  • Lord Robert

Product Details

  • Product code: JNPY
  • ISBN: 9780099586364
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Format: Collection
  • Dimensions: 17.7cm x 29.9cm
  • Pages: Varies
  • Book points: 9

Customer Ratings

(7)

Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
Love this box set -

I love this box set of Jean Plaidy books. These books are fantastic. I've really enjoyed reading my way through them. I've not read any Plaidy before, but will definitely look out for more books. I wish Book People had some other Jean Plaidy box sets.

Estelle , Fri Jun 03 13:01:30 BST 2016

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?


Lost in Tudor England -

I'm 53 and only just discovering these books and Jean Plaidy; it seems I have a treat in store. I have read three of them since delivery, and confess I just cannot put them down. Philippa Gregory is also one of my favorite authors.

What these books do, whilst they might flit outrageously with any hard psychological evidence in history, is embody a story behind the base chronological facts, and in doing so make the reader visualise an unforgettable story unfolding.

As an wxample; apart from Anne Boleyn, who can always remember in which order the six wives of Henry the eighth came or what actually happened to them? Who their families were? What Plaidy does is write a story around each one, a story that will evoke a memory. A memory hopefully that turns boring chronological facts, and sprawling royal family trees that are almost forgotten as you reach the end of the page, into a living story of history that the reader finds hard to forget.

Wonderful.

Charlies Mum , Tue Apr 12 10:03:17 BST 2016

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?


Wonderful -

I originally read many of these as a teenager and loved them. I am enjoying rediscovering my favourites and reading ones I never read. They are nicely written and the characters are well drawn. A great way to get some understanding of women in English history. I like them much more than Philippa Gregory.

Jackie , Wed May 27 08:06:43 BST 2015

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?


A class act -

I never write reviews but feel compelled to do so! Jean Plaidy is absolutely fantastic. When I have tried to read other books by modern historical writers I find myself feeling a little bored and I have to skip quite a few pages. When I read Plaidy I don't want to miss a word! She brings history to life in an unpretentious manner. A great read!

Raised Eyebrows , Tue Apr 14 09:03:14 BST 2015

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?


These books are evocative and vivid -

Really excellent. Well researched and full of detail. Most importantly they do not slip into the sloppy writing style of foisting modern pre-occupations and mind set onto archaic people who would not have acted like 21st century women...Yes, Phillipa Gregory, Im looking at you with a stern expression.

Mistym , Thu Oct 10 20:57:20 BST 2013

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?


See all 7 reviews