Crime, Thriller & Mystery  

Kate Shackleton Mysteries Collections - 4 Books (Paperback)

Frances Brody

-
(3)

Described as 'Miss Marple in her youth', Kate Shackleton tackles some of the quirky crimes and meddling mysteries that take place in the quiet Yorkshire village of Bridgestead during the 1920s.

In Dying in the Wheel, Joshua Braithwaite has gone missing. His daughter is getting married and wants to try tracking him down one last time. Where could he be? Has he run off with his mistress? Or could he have been murdered? A lady who loves solving puzzles, Kate decides to take it upon herself to crack the case...

The further stories find Kate investigating the links between a pawn-shop robbery, a fatal stabbing and a ransom demand; the murder of a gentleman banker who was facing ruin and disgrace; and a killing in the basement of the library in Leeds.

Brilliant books for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and M.C. Beaton, this introduction to Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton series is full of wonderful characters, colourful historical detail and compelling crimes.


Product Details

  • Product code: KTSM
  • ISBN: 9780349413983
  • Publisher: Little Brown
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.5cm
  • Book points: 6

Customer Ratings

(3)

Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
Kate Shackleton Mysteries -

Thoroughly enjoying reading these! Tuned in to the heroine immediately and believable characters have been created. Author has clearly done a thorough amount of research before writing. Will buy more!

Blossom , Fri Nov 11 09:35:54 GMT 2016

3 of 3 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

3 of 3 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

3 of 3 people found this helpful. Did you?


Ready for more please! -

I bought the first three books and thoroughly enjoyed them. They are, if anything, a little over long but overall very entertaining and I will be on the lookout for more. A cut above some of the other female crime books but no less satisfying and enjoyable.

Liz , Tue Nov 01 20:23:03 GMT 2016

4 of 4 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

4 of 4 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

4 of 4 people found this helpful. Did you?


Cosy Crime at its best! -

The Kate Shackleton books are well written and the plots are good. I also found that the series got better as they progressed. Mrs. Shackleton is a very likeable heroine, who starts out by tracing 'missing' husbands after WW1 and accidentally stumbles into sleuthing.

There are also good background stories regarding Kate and her trusty assistants. I thoroughly enjoyed all the books in the series and am looking forward to the next one.

Marian , Tue Sep 27 13:03:04 BST 2016

7 of 7 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

7 of 7 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

7 of 7 people found this helpful. Did you?

Thanks for the review

We're so glad you're enjoying these appealing books and hope you continue to enjoy more of her cases.

Ryan, Book People, Tue Sep 27 13:11:44 BST 2016

You have  Book Points

Earn 6 points by adding this item to your basket or spend 400 points to get this item for FREE.

 Sign in to spend points