User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <
The Dressmaker's Dowry - 9780062469830

Product Details

  • Product code: AXGKR
  • ISBN: 9780062469830
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 13.8cm x 20.3cm
  • Pages: 384
  • Publish date: 09/03/2017

The Dressmaker's Dowry (Paperback)

The Dressmaker's Dowry - 9780062469830

Meredith Jaeger


  • Our price £9.89
  • RRP £9.99
Notify me
Add to wish list
For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco's gritty streets in 1876, and the other, a young woman in present day who must delve into the secrets of her husband's wealthy family only to discover that she and the missing dressmaker might be connected in unexpected ways. An exquisite ring, passed down through generations, connects two women who learn that love is a choice, and forgiveness is the key to freedom...San Francisco: 1876 Immigrant dressmakers Hannelore Schaeffer and Margaret O'Brien struggle to provide food for their siblings, while mending delicate clothing for the city's most affluent ladies. When wealthy Lucas Havensworth enters the shop, Hanna's future is altered forever. With Margaret's encouragement and the power of a borrowed green dress, Hanna dares to see herself as worthy of him. Then Margaret disappears, and Hanna turns to Lucas. Braving the gritty streets of the Barbary Coast and daring to enter the mansions of Nob Hill, Hanna stumbles upon Margaret's fate, forcing her to make a devastating decision...one that will echo through the generations. San Francisco: Present Day In her elegant Marina apartment overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge, Sarah Havensworth struggles to complete the novel she quit her job for. Afraid to tell her husband of her writer's block, Sarah is also hiding a darker secret-one that has haunted her for 14 years. Then a news headline from 1876 sparks inspiration: Missing Dressmakers Believed to be Murdered. Compelled to discover what happened to Hannelore and Margaret, Sarah returns to her roots as a journalist. Will her beautiful heirloom engagement ring uncover a connection to Hanna Schaeffer?

Share The Dressmaker's Dowry on Pinterest

Product Details

  • Product code: AXGKR
  • ISBN: 9780062469830
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 13.8cm x 20.3cm
  • Pages: 384
  • Publish date: 09/03/2017

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?

Rate & Review
  • Our price £9.89
  • RRP £9.99
Notify me

We hope to have this item available again soon.


Add to Wishlist