The Mid-Western Fells (Paperback)

Mark Richards


Lakeland Fellranger walking guidebook covering 22 summits in the Mid-Western Fells of the Lake District, including a wide range of hills in the triangle between Great Langdale, Borrowdale and Wasdale. The group centres on the two highest hills in England, the mighty Scafell Pike and Sca Fell with their many approaches. Each of the 22 fells has a dedicated chapter describing a plethora of walking routes of differing characters and difficulties (from wide bridleways up to easy scrambles), which can easily be combined to make ascents, descents, traverses or ridge routes. The chapter begins with a customised Harvey map that illustrates the routes, and shows ridge connections to neighbouring fells to assist in the planning of extended walks. In many instances pen and ink drawn diagrams show the routes from a given perspective to assist visualisation. The guidebook is fully illustrated throughout with clear elevation diagrams, detailed summit panoramas and lots of inspiring photographs. The Mid-Western Fells is part of the eight-volume Lakeland Fellranger series by Mark Richards. Together they provide a comprehensive guide to explore and enjoy the fells of the Lake District, with a selection of routes up more than 220 hills.

Product Details

  • Product code: BHJEG
  • ISBN: 9781852845438
  • Publisher: Cicerone Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 20.0cm x 13.1cm
  • Pages: 272
  • Publish date: Fri Mar 13 00:00:00 GMT 2009


Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?