Knight in Training Collection - 6 Books (Collection)

Vivian French

5 years +

With dragons, bears and all sorts of other creatures featuring throughout these six books, Vivian French's Knight in Training series is sure to delight children who love funny and exciting stories. David Melling's hilarious illustrations just add to the madcap nature.

Starting with Dragons Can't Swim, the books reveal how Sam J. Butterbiggins has just one ambition - to be a Very Noble Knight. But he has a problem - he's been packed off to the castle next door to stay with his aunt and uncle while his parents are away. While there, he has to put up with both his annoying cousin Prune and the weird creatures his aunt looks after including dragons and griffins.

Godfrey the dragon gets stuck down a well and Sam has no choice but to work with Prune to save him. While inside the well, the pair make an incredible discovery - a scroll giving instructions on six quests to become the perfect knight. Sam wants to complete them, but Prune keeps getting in the way...

This collection includes books 1-6 in Vivian French and David Melling's Knight in Training series.
Format: paperback

Titles in this collection (6)
  • Knight in Training: Dragons Can't Swim
  • Knight in Training: A Horse Called Dora
  • Knight in Training: A Very Bothersome Bear
  • Knight in Training: Spots, Stripes and Zigzags
  • Knight in Training: Combat at the Castle
  • Knight in Training: To the Rescue!

Product Details

  • Product code: KNTI
  • ISBN: 9781444946529
  • Publisher: Hachette Childrens Books
  • Format: Collection
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.8cm
  • Pages: Varies
  • Book points: 7

Customer Ratings


Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
Amazing! -

My 6-year-old loves it! He needed only 2 evenings to finish each of the book but he had a lot of fun - laughing a lot, he wanted to keep them on his shelf to read again in the future. Very good collection.

zuo , Wed Jul 25 15:03:49 BST 2018

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?

Brilliant books -

My 6- and 4-year-old really loved these. They were gripped the whole way through. Trying to find something else like it to read next.

Fletch82 , Sun Jun 03 20:43:09 BST 2018

1 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

1 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

1 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?

Thanks for the review

We're so glad your children have enjoyed these books. Maybe something like Flying Fergus (Product code CHYF) or Mudpuddle Farm (MUDP) would also be appealing?

Ryan, Book People, Mon Jun 04 09:01:05 BST 2018