Island in the East (Paperback)

Jenny Ashcroft

-  

'Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.' Kate Furnivall 'I'm absolutely loving it.' Gill Paul 'Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous 'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees. ************** Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything. Singapore, 1897 Harriet and Mae Grafton, twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair, grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences. 1941 Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair, and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . . Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best. Praise for Jenny Ashcroft: 'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies 'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees 'A summer must-read' Red 'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher 'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan 'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey 'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton


Product Details

  • Product code: BQHCY
  • ISBN: 9780751565089
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.6cm
  • Pages: 432
  • Publish date: Tue Jul 10 00:00:00 BST 2018
  • Book points: 7

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?