The Road to Grantchester (Hardback)

James Runcie

-
(2)

This touching novel is the captivating prequel to James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries series, which has been adapted into ITV's prime-time show starring James Norton and Robson Green.

Fans of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks will enjoy this surprising origin story that follows the life, loves and losses of 18-year-old Sidney Chambers in post-war London. After gaining a Military Cross and losing his best friend on the battlefields of Italy, Sidney's carefree youth has been blown apart and he must now decide what to do with the rest of his life.

But he has heard a call: constant, quiet and growing ever more persistent. Despite the incredulity of his family and the derision of his friends, Sidney must negotiate his path to God - the course of which never runs smooth...

Why should you buy this book? It's the first full-length novel in the popular series of short stories. It reveals how Sidney found God and will delight fans of the adaptation, too!


Product Details

  • Product code: TRTG
  • ISBN: 9781408886854
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Format: Hardback
  • Dimensions: 21.6cm x 13.5cm
  • Pages: 336
  • Publish date: 21/03/2019

Customer Ratings

(2)

Customer Reviews

Rate & Review
Interesting -

I've only just started reading this book and I am liking what I've read so far, and I'm looking forward to the rest it. I've thoroughly enjoyed the TV series and I think it is always very interesting to take a step back in time to see the roots from where a character come. Very good so far.

HULKSTER , 08/04/2019

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 0 people found this helpful. Did you?


The Road to Granchester -

I bought this book for a friend's birthday not for myself but I have not given it to her yet as it isn't her birthday for a couple of weeks. I am sure she will enjoy it when she is given it!!

Lyn , 07/04/2019

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?     Yes | No

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?    Yes | No

0 of 1 people found this helpful. Did you?


You have  Book Points