User Heart Menu Basket Cross Plus < Minus <

Sorry, we are no longer taking orders

Our priority is to fulfil all existing orders whilst ensuring the health and wellbeing of our colleagues and customers alike. Please be assured that our warehouse team is working hard to ship all existing orders as quickly and safely as possible. Orders may take up to 7 weeks to be delivered.

Unfortunately you can no longer log into your account, but please do not worry. This does not mean your order is not being processed. You will receive a tracking email as soon as your order has been dispatched. You are still able to contact Customer Services by email at contact_centre@thebookpeople.co.uk or call 0345 602 3030 (Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm) for any questions you may have.

Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. The Book People

The Woman Who Kept Everything - 9780008308636

Product Details

  • Product code: BTWKA
  • ISBN: 9780008308636
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.9cm
  • Pages: 304
  • Publish date: 29/01/2019

The Woman Who Kept Everything (Paperback)

The Woman Who Kept Everything - 9780008308636

Jane Gilley


  • Our price £6.39
  • RRP £7.99
  • Save £1.60
Notify me
Add to wish list
The Lady in the Van meets The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry in this uplifting, funny and moving debut novel about a 79-year-old hoarder who is convinced the world is against her. 79-year-old Gloria Frensham is a hoarder. She lives amongst piles of magazines, cardboard boxes and endless knick-knacks that are stacked into every room of her home, and teeter in piles along the landing and up the stairs. She hasn't left the house in years, but when a sudden smell of burning signifies real danger, she is forced to make a sudden departure and leave behind her beloved possessions. Determined she's not ready for a care home, Gloria sets out to discover what life still has to offer her. It's time to navigate the outside world on her own, one step at a time, with just one very small suitcase in tow... Heart-warming and poignant in equal measure, this is a story about the loneliness of life, the struggles of growing old, the power of kindness, and the bravery it takes to leave our comfort zones. ** Early praise from NetGalley reviewers ** `This book has to be in my top best loved books of 2018. I enjoyed every single page. There was never a dull moment.' `Without a doubt, readers will be charmed by the many colourful characters and their relationships with each other, as well as where life takes Gloria next.' `This delightful book will enchant any reader who has a soul.' `Fans of A Man Called Ove and Three Things About Elsie will find comfortable, enjoyable ground here.' `It would make a great and inspired book club read.' `A beautiful, charming, witty story' `This is a novel that perhaps we all need to read. It is a realistic look into aging with humour and some sadness, that all too many often forget to see.' `A lesson on how to live life!' `Oh Gloria Frensham, what a fabulous ride you gave us on your adventures in this book. I suspect this will turn out to be a film and very much on a par with Lady in the Van.'

Product Details

  • Product code: BTWKA
  • ISBN: 9780008308636
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Format: Paperback
  • Dimensions: 19.8cm x 12.9cm
  • Pages: 304
  • Publish date: 29/01/2019

Reviews

Help our customers make the best choices by telling everyone what you think about this product.

There are currently no customer reviews for this product. Why not be the first?

Rate & Review
  • Our price £6.39
  • RRP £7.99
  • Save £1.60
Notify me

We hope to have this item available again soon.


Add to Wishlist

 2019 - The Book People Ltd. The Book People Ltd is registered in England. Company number 2290665. VAT Number: 664509028.
Registered address: The Book People Limited, Salisbury House, Weyside Park, Catteshall Lane, Godalming, Surrey, GU7 1XE.